Fundamental Baptist Biographies

TheOldJudge

Elect
Reaction score
Hello.

I am new to the Fighting Fundamental Forums, and I am very excited to be here.

For several months now, I have followed the activity on this forum. My observations are that there are numerous Fundamental Baptists (or former ones) who are active members. That is the main reason why I joined. I need help in researching my history of Baptistic Fundamentalism.

Years ago, I purchased a biography of Lee Roberson. The book was such a blessing that I began to pick up more Fundamental Baptist biographies whenever I had the chance. Recently, I have begun to acquire them in earnest, but I fear that I am reaching the end of my list. Does anybody on this forum know of any obscure (rare, out-of-print, expensive, etc.) biographies about individuals within the Fundamental Baptist movement?

Here are the ones that I currently have:

Russell Anderson
Rod Bell, Sr.
Dallas Billington
B. Myron Cedarholm
R. V. Clearwaters
Fred S. Donnelson
W. E. Dowell
Jacob Gartenhaus
Mordecai Ham
Arlin Horton
R. L. Hymers
Jack Hyles
Bob Jones, Sr.
E. Robert Jordan
Robert T. Ketcham
Tom Malone
J. Frank Norris
Monroe Parker
Ford Porter
Hugh F. Pyle
John Rawlings
John R. Rice
W. B. Riley
Lee Roberson
T. T. Shields
Don Sisk
Charles H. Stevens
G. B. Vick

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

That is a remarkable collection. I wish I could help you add to it. I assume that you already have "God's Rascal" and "Shooting Salvationist" about J. Frank Norris, also "Sword of the Lord" about John R. Rice, also "History of Fundamentalism in America" and "Fight For Fundamentalism" by George Dollar. "Portrait of Obedience" about Robert Ketcham was a good book. If you want to go back to the 19th Century, there is a book called "J.R. Graves - Life, Times and Teachings" by O.L. Hailey, published 1929, apparently by State Association of Missionary Baptist Churches of Arkansas.