Living a fulfilling Christian Life

treasure_unseen

Elect
Reaction score
I can honestly say I believe most Christians are just not happy. Sure. They'll pretend they are. They'll tell you they are.... but if they truly be honest, they're just not happy. I think it might be good if we discuss the why's and how's of living a fulfilling Christian life.

First, its okay to "fight" about it. Which is one thing that attracted me to the FFF forums so many years ago. The idea that I can argue for the Truth without fearing the "wrath" of influential people targeting you.

So lets "fight it out"....

1. Most Christian have unrealistic expectations of what it is to lead a Christian life.

I've got both bad and good news for you.... and both come out of the same fact. No matter how hard you try, you're going to fail. That is good in the fact, failure teaches us and success often leads to pride. It is bad because can make the mistake of accepting failure as if we can never succeed. I'm not a prosperity preacher nor am I'm a pessimistic. I try to be a realist. It is by God's supernatural power that we only have the ability to be pleasing to Him. Yet, we have this power/treasure in weak vessels. That the praise might be of God and not of us.

I'm reminded of the story of Peter questioning the Lord of how many times he should forgive his brother if he sinned against him in a day..... People often see Luke 17 and Matthew 18 being the same story. I believe Luke 17 produced the discussion Peter had with Jesus recorded in Matthew 18. Peter was wanting to please Jesus by following what Jesus had taught, but his natural inclination to sin was hung up on the # 7.

Luk 17:4 And if he trespass against thee seven times in a day, and seven times in a day turn again to thee, saying, I repent; thou shalt forgive him.