Being called Brother

Techmedic

Elect
Reaction score
I have noticed that in IFB churches they say this is Brother Joe and that over there is Brother Tom, and that guy over there is Joe... Why is there this distinction? Is being called Brother like in the Mafia... This is a fried of mine (means I alone am vouching for him and don't talk too much business around them) vs This is a friend of ours (This is saying he is a made man and anything can be talked about in front of them). I have been attending IFB for about 3 years now and was just called Brother xxxxx by the pastor, where before that he just called me by my name (same with the other church just called me by my name no Brother).

It is a reference to say that someone is saved and a brother or sister in Christ.
I.e. brother (in Christ) Joe.

However, when someone calls me, brother, I think what do u want to sell me or how much is this gonna cost me?

Gladstone said:
It is a reference to say that someone is saved and a brother or sister in Christ.
I.e. brother (in Christ) Joe.

However, when someone calls me, brother, I think what do u want to sell me or how much is this gonna cost me?

Reminds me that's what Thom K. used to say when he was hawking some deal to you.

"Brother, have I got a deal for you."

One of the You Might Be A Hacker traits was walking down the hall listening to HACkers greeting everyone with, "Hello Brother."
"Hello Brother."
"Hello Brother."
"Hello Brother."
"Hello Brother."
.....to everyone he passed.

It kind of comes in handy when you can't remember someone's name. You just say hey Brother!

It can also be used if you haven't attained the status of Honorary Doctorate needed to truly be successful in IFBdom.

I think Bill Gaither said it best:

You will notice we say "brother and sister" 'round here-
It's because we're a family, and these folks are so near;
When one has a heartache, we all share the tears,
And rejoice in each victory, In this family so dear.