Bringing a Friends or Neighbors Children to Church ...

Tim

Elect
Reaction score
Our Church is in the process of developing and voting on policy for child protection.

Last night the subject of transportation was brought up, and after some questions from the floor the following was established from new policy in our Church:

If someone personally brings a child to Church (friend or neighbor), they must get parental approval in writing and submit that to Church, plus the policy of 2 adults in vehicle with child must apply.

I have an issue with the requirement of two adults if I bring my children and our close friends children to Church together. My wife stays home on Monday night youth, I bring my two teens, and sometimes I bring our friends two teens ... we all feel this is safe. But. Under new Church policy I would need another adult to bring my friends children to Church.

Why? I am an agent of our Church by membership and the fact that I teach Sunday School. Plus, this protects myself, the children, and the Church. That is what I have been told anyway.

Is this a normal policy? Is this overboard?

Additionally. An older lady brings my son sometimes to food pantry to assist with that ministry. She no longer can bring him since she is alone with a 14 year old boy.

Having your own children in your car seems appropriate enough. These child protection policies need to be considered, in line, with the church's insurance policy. NOTHING will ever stop an accusation. Does your insurance policy require this? If not, then it is overkill. I never heard of one doing that.

Strange. Unless the church set up a formal carpooling system, I don't see how a church can be held liable.

... but I am no lawyer

Do you hold a position with the church....deacon, SS Teacher etc..