Fondest Memory or Personal Stories about Mrs. Hyles

sword

Doctor
Elect
Reaction score
I thought it would be a nice tribute to Mrs. Hyles to document some fond memories and personal kindness she showed to members here.

Remember, one memory per post.
We don't want to get in trouble.

Even though I don't have anything to contribute to this thread, it is a great idea!  I especially like the "one memory per post".  :)

Sweet Little Jesus Boy...it aint Christmas til she sings it.

Sent from my H1611 using Tapatalk

Other than seeing her in the choir, I have no personal experience, except the one time she came into a Saturday night class needing keys.

You could tell it bothered Jack.  She knew it bothered him and I think she enjoyed that.

I believe the class was called Wardrobe Coordination and Grooming.  It was only for ladies.  She was speaking about getting proper amount of rest.  She stated something similar to, "Now, girrrls. Brother Hyles says 5 hours of sleep is all he needs, but girrrrrrls, Brother Hyles has never been a woman!' 

A truly gracious lady. A few months after Bro. Hyles passed away we visited FBC. She came up to us and thanked us for visiting. It had been a dozen or more years since she had seen us and am sure barley knew our names, but still remembered us! A lady of grace who was called to live it.

In the nine years I was at the college I never got to speak to her or have a conversation....

One Wednesday night Bro Hyles said something about how women's dispositions shouldn't change at that time of the month. The next class we had with Mrs Hyles she said, "I wasn't there last Wednesday night but I heard what my husband said and I wanted to say to him Have you ever been a woman?!!!!"