What did they do at HAC to make graduates worship Hyles?

pastorryanhayden

Elect
Reaction score
I'm an IFB pastor.  I'm conservative about the KJV, music, dress, etc.  I didn't go to Hyles, but interacting with HAC alumni, I find the one common thread with all of them is that they worship the ground that Jack Hyles walked on.
  • I know pastors who will pray to the deceased Jack Hyles.
  • I know pastors who will not let anyone in their church read any books that don't come from the HAC bookstore.
  • I know pastors who will not let anyone preach for them unless they are HAC alumni.
  • I've heard pastors joke about Hyles being the fourth member of the Trinity.
  • I've known pastors to manipulate their preacher boys away from going to any Bible college but Hyles Anderson.
  • A friend of mine shook Dr. Hyles hand as a teenager and was promptly told by an employee they should never wash it.

For me, all of that pales to the fact that I have never personally met anyone who went to HAC (except for a few people who were obviously bitter about it) that didn't treat Dr. Hyles as if he was above any criticism.

Now, I am super grateful to Clarence Sexton, but I've never met a Crown grad who thought he was above criticism.  I've never met a graduate of any other institution that treated the leadership that way.  Yet almost all of the HAC people I've met treat Hyles that way.

So my question is, what was unique about the HAC experience that causes you guys to treat Hyles that way? 

Are you attacking Dr. Hyles!?!?!  How DARE you!!!!

;D

pastorryanhayden said:
I'm an IFB pastor.  I'm conservative about the KJV, music, dress, etc.  I didn't go to Hyles, but interacting with HAC alumni, I find the one common thread with all of them is that they worship the ground that Jack Hyles walked on.
  • I know pastors who will pray to the deceased Jack Hyles.
  • I know pastors who will not let anyone in their church read any books that don't come from the HAC bookstore.